[Show/Hide Left Column]
[Show/Hide Right Column]


The Melurbian Pantheon

The primary religion of most of the Seven Baronies and many of the human-inhabited territories to the south. It is an old and well-unified pantheon which has existed for at least 1500 years, although some of its individual deities have been worshipped for longer or shorter periods of time. The Melurbian pantheon is divided into four chief parts: the Enlightened Gods, or Gods of Good (Sarox, Plon, Hippus, Britigit, and Liltin), the Nature Gods, or Gods of Neutrality (Elamonel, Tallad, Nitsol, Velselor, Bes, Nuarta, and Franaxa), the Base Gods, or Gods of Evil (Dianaubis, Iara, Glarath, Hhalen Solissus, and Agiac), and the capricious Faerie Gods (too numerous to mention here). A fifth branch, The Forgotten, also exists, but they are not true gods and bear special treatment elsewhere. A Melurbian is expected to choose a patron deity upon coming of age, but may pray to any god in the pantheon for aid. The worship of various Melurbian deities is scattered throughout the Baronies, but all of them have at least a small presence in every barony. Public worship of Tallad, the Base Gods, and most of the Faerie Gods is illegal in most realms.

Enlightened Gods

Neutral Gods

Evil Gods

Other Gods of the Seven Baronies


Farus was once a deity in the Melurbian pantheon, the god of the sun and the patron of craftsmen. He was the husband of the goddess Britigit, and by some accounts they had a child, Liltin, goddess of love. Farus is, however, a dead god. In the time before mortals lived, Farus was one of two deities murdered by the goddess Iara in her grasp for power (the other was Agiac, god of wolves). Farus' death introduced night to the world and left craftsmen with no specific patron. It is said in Kaerith's mythology that the sun still burns because Britigit relights her husband's funeral pyre each morning, and it burns out at dusk at the end of each day. She also took smiths, left without a craftsman-patron, under her protection.

Another repercussion of Farus' death was the growth, where his blood spilled, of an intelligent tree. This tree became Wallethere, the new god of craftsmen and the sole deity of Nethenism. Nethenists recognize Farus as the father of their god and honor (but do not worship) him, and pay respect to Britigit and Liltin for their connection with him. They also reserve great hatred for Iara as a result.

Farus is remembered by Nethenists, Britigines, Liltinites, and some followers of other Melurbian deities on the festival day known as Sunmourning, August 1. He also has a small order of monks who tend the last remaining temple of Farus, the Crypt of the Sun, maintaining an eternal flame at the site in northwestern Ganlay where Farus died. Britigines must make at least one pilgrimage to the Crypt of the Sun in their lifetimes. Monks of Farus have no true clerical powers, but receive some minor spell abilities due to their devotion to the dead god and the grace of Britigit [[minor access only to the spheres of All, Fire, and Sun]]. They wear black and yellow robes and wear sunburst amulets, the symbol of their fallen god.


The devil of Nethenism. Traad, the Desert Deceiver , is a god of magic, mirages, and falsehood. He promotes unearned rewards and dabbling in the mystical. Traad has a small cult in Irelia ; his vile priests have the power to drain water from living things with a touch. His symbol is the vulture. [[They have major access to spells from All, Charm, Creation (reversed), Combat, Elemental (all but water), Healing (reversed), Sun, and Weather, and minor access to Animal and Necromancy.]]


Dwarven Gods

  • An - Father of the Dwarven Panthenon
  • Shatterstriker - War
  • Rorun Ethus Keeperstone - Time and Secrets
  • (missing one more)

Created by blacksol. Last Modification: Sunday 08 of January, 2012 02:33:56 EST by blacksol.
The content on this page is licensed under the terms of the License.

Show php error messages